Seaside Sunset And The Beloved

One of my beloved and dearest Pashtun female friends wrote this beautiful poem and I just had to share it on my blog! I hope more and more of the brilliant Pashtun women in my life come forth and share their gems; whether it’s through their writings, poetry, or art. Anyway, without further ado, enjoy!

***

Orange sunset and his hand
In my heaven do I stand!

His blue eyes sending me to trance
As sand shimmers and tides dance!

Sunrays striking his face
Brightening his magnetic grace!

His smile–infectious and bright
Addictive looks with divine light!

Smiling beloved and blowing zephyr
Of love, beachy sand a quagmire!

Barefooted he runs on sand
After me; catches my hand!

His hug so nice and warm
As bees bonding in a swarm!

The breeze, the sand, the rainbow
Beloved sweeter, or nature’s show?

Lovely sunset; his looking at me
Lucent sun, but brighter he!

Even rainbow with bright colors
“Envies you”, intuition murmurs!

He is celestial, he is ethereal
Surely my dream became real!

The persona, the aura, the magnetism
Having him may push me into narcissism!

Of my heart he is the lone lily
Which, barring him: a deserted valley!

His gaze and the metaphysical chemistry
He and the matter to remain a mystery!

Hand-in-hand, looking at horizon
Isn’t the match made in heaven?

His whisper, my heartbeat; his soul, my spirit
Two bodies, one spirit; love with no limit!

© NKJ

9 responses to “Seaside Sunset And The Beloved

  1. I don’t know much about poetry…kho dasay lagi chay sok pa English ke lagya de tapay wayee :) Beautiful!

    • Kana?! My friend is so talented! I hope she shares more of her beautiful poetry. I have yet to meet a Pukhtana who can write such beautiful poetry like her. Hopefully, she’ll be able to come up with a Pashto poem next! :-)

      • we have imported quite a few genres of poetry from foreign languages. About time to experiment with Tappa in english and other foreign languages.

  2. OOoooooOoo….wawaaaweee!!! lol. That was beautiful…actualy gave me goosebumps! was this originaly in pushto or english.

    • Thank you for your comment, Zaheen jaan! Well, this poem is in English. But it would be great if it could be translated into Pashto. Do you write/blog too, by the way?

  3. Thank you sooooooooo very much, Samar jaan! I am totally taken aback by each and every thing on this page–from the LOVELY picture you put with my poem to the synergistic colour scheme to these absolutely BEAUTIFUL comments!!! Your readers are so kind to appreciate this humble effort!

    Love you so much for the amazing words about myself!!! Indeed very kind of you, sweetheart! <3

    • Thank you sooooooooo very much, Samar jaan! I am totally taken aback by each and every thing on this page–from the LOVELY picture you put with my poem to the synergistic colour scheme to these absolutely BEAUTIFUL comments!!! Your readers are so kind to appreciate this humble effort!

      Love you so much for the amazing words about myself!!! Indeed very kind of you, sweetheart! <3

I'd love to read your thoughts!

