Alien Abduction: How Real Is It?

If a couple of weeks ago someone had walked up to me and told me that they’ve seen a UFO or worse, experienced being abducted by aliens, not only will I not believe them at all but, most likely, I might even laugh out loud; all the while shaking my head in disbelief. However, now I am not sure whether I’d react the same way, for although I can’t say for certain whether humans have seen actual UFOs flying above their heads, or gotten strange marks on their bodies from alien abductions, all I am certain about is that aliens do exist and they may have visited our planet. And this realization was accentuated last weekend when I watched a documentary type horror film called The Fourth Kind that a close friend had recommended a while back. Unlike me, she is convinced that alien abductions are real and that aliens have visited our planet on a number of occasions, but the government and mass media have conspired to cover up all or any alien activities, thus making it difficult to prove that aliens have actually landed and further made contact with humans.

So, the The Fourth Kind, in short, is supposedly based on a true story that took place in Nome, Alaska during the 1970s, where a psychologist named Dr. Abbey Tyler begins video-taping sessions with traumatized patients and discovers some of the most disturbing evidence of alien abduction ever documented live. And using never-before-seen archival footage that is integrated into the film, the Fourth Kind exposes the terrifying revelations of multiple witnesses, including the psychologist herself, who later witnesses her own daughter being kidnapped by aliens. Hence, a scale of measurement was established for alien encounters where the first kind referred to a UFO being sighted with the naked eye; the second kind referring to when evidence is collected; the third kind involved actual contact being made with aliens; and then finally the fourth kind – the worst kind of all – which involved actual abduction.

Mind you, I love horror flicks and most of the time I never take them seriously, but The Fourth Kind was different. Although it did not scare me, for it wasn’t as scary as I’d thought; it did, however, make me think. A lot.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been fascinated with the universe as a whole, i.e. stars, planets, black holes, galaxies, etc.; especially being awestruck by how infinitely vast it is. There exist over 100 galaxies, each of which has millions and billions of stars with planets orbiting them. So, there is no denying whatsoever that there is intelligent life out there. And there is widespread belief, in which a cult has grown around it, where people are convinced that these alien life forms have travelled to Earth from some foreign planet, millions of light years away, and are abducting humans in order to do experiments on them. However, despite the incredible nature of this belief and the lack of credible evidence to back it up, I can understand why so many people overlook its validity.

Furthermore, people who strongly believe in alien abductions also believe that aliens have crashed at Roswell, New Mexico, during the late 1940s, where the US government recovered the alien spacecraft and kept it a secret in a remote place known as “Area 51.” And then I wonder about alien-based movies like “Independence Day,” “Signs,” and the comedy “Men In Black,” in which the characters mention Area 51; where aliens invade Earth in a large spaceship; where aliens are roaming the planet, in human form, so that most people are oblivious to their existence; and where aliens are leaving signs of their presence in the form of so-called crop circles and cattle mutilation. Since some people claim to have already witnessed most, if not all, of the above-mentioned incidences in real life, it does make me wonder whether there is a lot of truth to these sci-fi Hollywood movies. However, at the same time, I can’t help feeling skeptical as it could also be more than possible that UFO sightings, alien contact/abductions, etc. could all just be a figment of one’s creative imagination, simply influenced by these same movies.

But, I really can’t say for sure.

In an interesting article called Don’t Talk To Aliens, Warns Stephen Hawking, the author discusses Stephen Hawking’s take on this whole alien phenomenon and the dangers that would be posed to humankind IF we ever were to come into contact with them. Hawking says:

“To my mathematical brain, the numbers alone make thinking about aliens perfectly rational. The real challenge is to work out what aliens might actually be like.

We only have to look at ourselves to see how intelligent life might develop into something we wouldn’t want to meet. I imagine they might exist in massive ships, having used up all the resources from their home planet. Such advanced aliens would perhaps become nomads, looking to conquer and colonize whatever planets they can reach.

If aliens ever visit us, I think the outcome would be much as when Christopher Columbus first landed in America, which didn’t turn out very well for the Native Americans.”

So, like I said earlier, although I believe in the existence of aliens and the possibility that they could be more intelligent and technologically superior than us, I guess the only time I would be fully convinced is if I, too, witnessed or went through an “alien” experience. ;)

15 responses to “Alien Abduction: How Real Is It?

  1. Excellent article Samar. Also, wanted to point out it was not only the spaceship that was recovered but the alien itself too. Search Physicist Bob Lazar and other researchers/astronomers like Carl Sagan.

    • Hey hun! Thank you so much for your great feedback! I will definitely look into the names of the individuals that you just mentioned. And, man, thanks to you, I’m like all into this whole alien stuff now; I find it so incredibly fascinating! And girl, get a freakin’ blog already!!!! I am dying to see you write some great articles of your own on these topics! Rarely do I meet people who even show interest in such topics, so, yeah, get on it already! LOL. Love ya <3

  2. Outter space is one of the most fascinating things to get into. I too believe that there is life out there, but like Stephen Hawkings suggests, if Alien life makes its way to Earth then we have nothing to be excited about, rather it’ll put us in an inferior position and God knows what could be next for us little human nobody’s!

    Human’s have been trying to connect to Alien life for a “very” long time now, if signals have been accepted, it could take decades for return signals to travel back. You and I are certainly “not” going to see any Alien’s or abductions or invasions in our lifetime, and if there were any already, the world would have definitely known loud and clear!

    Re: Roswell and Ares 51; if it wasn’t for conspiracy theories the world would be a very dull place.

    • I agree! We LIVE for conspiracy theories! And, yeah, like Stephen Hawking says, IF and ONLY if aliens were to ever get in contact with us, it would be quite catastrophic. I, too, believe that they exist somewhere out there, in our ever vast universe. But, I believe it is only a matter of time till they find our planet. I mean not too long ago, scientists discovered this planet near our solar system that is almost EXACTLY like earth. Here, this is the article that talks about the recent discovery:

      It’s very, very fascinating stuff! Heck, if I hadn’t gone into Development Studies, I would have definitely done Astronomy. I LOVE this stuff!

    • Wow, that is pretty amazing, Nashanas! Thanks for sharing that! It never fails to amaze me just how incredibly huge and vast our universe is. Amazing.

  3. lets suppose the final number of galaxies is125 billion. That means if we share these galaxies equally among all humans everyone of us will get around 21 galaxies each. So congratulations Sesapzi, you are the owner of 21 galaxies, trillions of stars and planets and moons.

    • Hahahaha! I wish! But then I wonder what will I do with 21 galaxies, trillions of stars, planets, etc? We humans have trouble managing a teeny tiny country, forget a WHOLE freakin’ galaxy! We, humans, are epic failures when it comes to owning and ruling a nation, a galaxy is a whole different ball-game. Hehe. But the idea is pretty tempting though. Btw, have you heard of this notion of a parallel universe by any chance? Here’s the documentary for it (it has five parts to it):

  4. Well sometimes I wish I could invent some technology and transfer all the Pashtuns to some other planet in some other galaxy. And if we dont get along well, we can always spread out on the new world and spend a few million years in peace.

    I have been watching “The Universe” and there was an entire episode on multiverses. Its one of the most fascinating episodes of the series. Left me thinking for a long time. Sometimes I wish i had studied physics and mathematics in college.

    • LOL! Yeah, I’d second that! At the rate we’re going, we Pashtuns definitely need our own planet, in a completely separate galaxy. Sighs. And, yeah, I totally hear ya about studying physics or math; though, I suck royally at both! Haha. I’d LOVE to have studied Astronomy; I find that stuff so incredibly fascinating.

      Oh, and thanks for the link to the video. I love Michio Kaku; he’s probably one of the most brilliant scientists out there. I’ll watch it as soon as I get some time. Right now I’m totally swamped with school work…ugh! And, yes, I’m totally procrastinating right now! Blah!

  5. I guess you would need a crash course in Physics and Mathematics before getting into the next Astronomy class :). I am thinking of starting a sci-fi blog or may be a sci-fi society in KP. Not everybody can write but than everybody can imagine. So I am thinking that i will let the kids imagine new worlds and i will plagiarize their thoughts :D

    school work, studies, obsession with knowing more! People find pleasure in knowing more, attaining knowledge. I feel miserable. I guess its just a matter of perspective.

    • Hahaha, I doubt a crash course in Physics and Math would help; the ONLY time I enjoyed math was when we did those trigonometry proofs, I admit, those were a little addictive. But other than that, blech! Sadly, I had to take Calculus TWICE, ’cause it was the only course that brought down my high school average when I was first applying to university. Luckily, we had the option to choose our six best courses to apply, so it was only after I did Calculus the second time around that I managed to maintain the GPA I wanted (for scholarship purposes, of course), but gosh, what a freakin’ nightmare! Some people are just naturals; they GET it! Makes me so jealous, haha.

      LOL @ plagiarizing thoughts. I reckon you read my post on plagiarizing in online debates/discussions? ;) Haha. You should totally start a blog (not sure if you have one already), but it’s a great way to express your thoughts/opinions, and it always serves as a great knowledge-base. And, there are hardly any Pakhtun bloggers as it is, especially those who write about Sci-fi related stuff. You’d be so unique! So, I say GO FOR IT! And make sure you send me the link so I can add it here on my favourite blogs. :) Good luck (if you start it, ka khairey!)

  6. Yeah i read that post and I totally understand your annoyance. Your description of Naik is epic :D These “new age” Mullahs come up with all sorts of bizarre interpretations. Trying to defend and justify concepts that simply can’t be justified no matter how much they use and abuse logic.

    Our education system relies on “memory”. So whoever best memorize their lessons get the highest grades. That is our standard for intelligence. That is exactly why Naik is praised and admired.

    I dont have any experience of blogging. So if someday I find the courage to start a blog i’ll definitely let you know!

    • LOL @ description of Naik being epic. Gosh, you have no idea how much I loathe that man. And here in my blog I was trying REALLY hard not to bash on him too much. It was hard, man! Ugh.

      And, yes, you totally nailed it with the whole reliance on “memorizing” thing. I remember when I lived in the Middle East and how it was ALL about memorizing, even memorizing the Qur’an, especially in a language that I did not understand, but was forced to learn. It reminds me of that brilliant movie “3 Idiots.” I normally am not a fan of Bollywood, that the theme of that movie is brilliant. I could totally relate to it at such a deep level. I even wrote a review of the movie here:

      You should totally start a blog! I didn’t have experience blogging either, when I first started exactly three years ago, but now I literally can’t live without it. ;)

  7. okay i dont know how old this is but there arent like 100 galaxies. there are 200 billion stars in each galaxy and there are 200 billion + galaxies… so if you thought 100 galaxies were alot…. its easy to believe plus ive seen a few scary unexplainable things that get me thinking. i thought it was a satellite until it turned around…..

I'd love to read your thoughts!

