The Grand Masquerade

This poem is greatly inspired by one of my most favourite quotes from William Shakespeare’s play, Macbeth:

Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.

I breathe, but I do not live
For living is to possess all five senses –
Touch, hear, taste, smell, sight –
But, I have lost all dexterity to do either
I have become numb
And my flesh is devoid of all subsistence,
Leaving my body impoverished and frail
I wander, like a walking cripple,
In a world where the rich are getting richer
And the poor are getting poorer
Amongst the phony dwellers
Of this grand masquerade!
Is not life but a walking shadow
Filled with nothing but sound and fury?
Are we not just meagre players,
Pretending to live in bliss,
All the while suppressing the thundering rage
That is eternally burning inside of us?
And what of these dwellers,
Who come in all colours, sizes, and shapes?
Although, unique in their conventions and credos,
They share the same blood 
As that of my dead ancestors
And, yet, they abhor and antagonize each other!
All the while drowning in a scalding sea of blood and roses
Rage and fury is their modus vivdendi
A modus I ardently repudiate,
With every wit and valour of my being!
But alas! My rebellion has failed me
It has caused me to become an outcast
In my own land, among my own people
Shunned from everything that was once mine
And debarred from all that I once cherished
I have now given up all faith,
For faith is the reason for my sordid anathema
And I do not find it strange anymore
How greedy these dwellers have become,
Foolishly living out this grand masquerade
Of never-ending acrimony,
While remaining emotionally effete
And intellectually crippled
Thirsting for squalid lust and infinite power;
Indeed, they will never be able to fathom
The mellifluous deliberations of my heart!
I dream, and dream, and I dream
Of nothing!
For I have lost sight of everything
That was once pure and beautiful
I have become wholly asphyxiated
And like glass falling upon hard concrete
I shatter into a million pieces
Each piece resonating a part of my history
That never was,
Except in my crystal white chimera…
I have finally become insane
In a world that is considered sane
And as I lament,
Lying naked and docile on the wet dirt,
Blanketed in the blackest of nights
One question incessantly haunts me:
If I disappeared tomorrow,
Will they remember me?

© October 2010

2 responses to “The Grand Masquerade

    • Thank you SO much, Saanj darling! It’s nothing compared to the brilliancy of your poems! :: hugs ::

I'd love to read your thoughts!

