How We Observe So Differently

This is a piece that my beloved Abaseen wrote a while back and I couldn’t help thinking just how painfully TRUE this is. When we’d first met, I always wondered why he hated going downtown; but after he wrote this, it all became so clear to me.

Anyway, I normally don’t share other people’s material on my blog for I like to keep it original, but there are rare – very rare instances – where something someone wrote impresses me to the point that I just HAVE to share it with the whole world. And this piece is one of them. So, enjoy! 🙂

***

There is a downtown that you see and there is a downtown that I see.

I don’t know if you see what you’d like to see, because I see what I’d rather not see.

Do you really look up to admire the tall buildings? Because I can’t help but to look down at the homeless person on the street; or is this your way of ignoring the misery that surrounds us, because I see such acts as yet another form of internal misery.

Sure we like to dine in waterfront restaurants; I can’t help but notice that young and beautiful person on the door holding a menu.  Is it really our hunger that takes us there or is it our hunger for a paragon that assures our presence there?

Yes, I see the shiny car that you are pointing at, but look at the end of that dark street, that girl hardly looks 17, and she is a hooker for guys on wheels. She is the sixth one that I see on that very same street.

What is with the look? Does my observation disgust you?

Yes, there is a downtown that you see and there is a downtown that I see, I wonder if you see what you’d like to see, because I know for sure that I don’t like to see what I see in this sea of humans, on yet another downtown street.

There is embellishment that you see and there is the wretchedness that I see. It’s strange how we observe so differently the very same streak.

There is a downtown that you see and there is a downtown that I see.

© July, 2009

2 responses to “How We Observe So Differently

    • LOL! Now that you mention it, you’re right! I’ll let him know. I’m sure he’ll be flattered ’cause he loves rap! 😉 (Well, actually, I do too, but more of the older artists, like Tupac, Immortal Technique, Biggie Smalls, Nas, Missy Elliot, etc.)

I'd love to read your thoughts!

