Provenance Of My Awakening

I amble down a narrow lane
But a perforation blocks my way
I don’t see it,
For I am blind and disillusioned
I plummet into darkness
And it takes me forever to clamber back out
I am lost,
Hopeless…

I amble down the same narrow lane
And for a second time,
The perforation blocks my way
I pretend I don’t see it,
For it is better to live in deceit
Rather than submit to reason
I plummet into darkness
But I clamber back out; effortlessly,
For I am hopeful,
Yet, I am perpetually lost
In this sallow enigma

I amble down the narrow lane once again
Once more, the perforation blocks my way
I see it is there,
But I artfully deny its existence,
For it is better to live in denial
Rather than accept the truth
Alas! I plummet…
It is a habit, you see; an enslavement!
My eyes are wide open
I know exactly where I am,
But my resistance to accept rational thought
Plunges me into darkness
I am not lost anymore; I am hopeful
And I clamber out immediately

I amble down the narrow lane one last time
Ah, yes, there it is; the vile perforation!
But this time I will not be fooled
By its alluring mirage!
I can see how the wide, gaping hole
Is trying to beckon me; seducing me,
Into it’s impeccable arroyo!
But I will no longer be lured
Into this chimera of consecration
I have become wiser
And my vision has become lucid

I turn around
And amble down a different lane…

© November, 2010

I'd love to read your thoughts!

