An Old poem of J. Krishnamurti

I was very fortunate to stumble upon this remarkable poem on a friend’s profile and couldn’t help sharing it here on my blog. I read this poem SO many times that I lost count. It’s just absolutely breathtaking! Enjoy!

***

An Old poem of J. Krishnamurti:

I have no name,
I am as the fresh breeze of the mountains.
I have no shelter;
I am as the wandering waters.
I have no sanctuary, like the dark gods;
Nor am I in the shadow of deep temples.
I have no sacred books;
Nor am I well-seasoned in tradition.
I am not in the incense
Mounting on the high altars,
Nor in the pomp of ceremonies.
I am neither in the graven image,
Nor in the rich chant of a melodious voice.
I am not bound by theories,
Nor corrupted by beliefs.
I am not held in the bondage of religions,
Nor in the pious agony of their priests.
I am not entrapped by philosophies,
Nor held in the power of their sects.
I am neither low nor high,
I am the worshipper and the worshipped.
I am free.
My song is the song of the river
Calling for the open seas,
Wandering, wandering,
I am Life.
I have no name,
I am as the fresh breeze of the mountains.

3 responses to “An Old poem of J. Krishnamurti

  1. Jiddu Krishnamurti telling a joke…

    “There are three monks, who had been sitting in deep meditation for many years amidst the Himalayan snow peaks, never speaking a word, in utter silence. One morning, one of the three suddenly speaks up and says, ‘What a lovely morning this is.’ And he falls silent again. Five years of silence pass, when all at once the second monk speaks up and says, ‘But we could do with some rain.’ There is silence among them for another five years, when suddenly the third monk says, ‘Why can’t you two stop chattering?”

    http://www.katinkahesselink.net/kr/jokes.html
    http://seaunaluzparaustedmismo.blogspot.com/

  2. I am very happy to read this poem by J Krishnamurti on your blog. I am a theosophist, architect, Indian, 45 , and i write poetry in Hindi -Urdu and English.

I'd love to read your thoughts!

