May 21 is Judgement Day? Not likely!

I went to the mall a few days ago, to meet up with a couple of friends I haven’t seen in eons, when this kid – a teenager, so to speak – came up to me and asked me whether the world is going to end on May 21, 2011. I just looked at him, totally dumbfounded, and just simply shook my head no. And then the kid just laughed and turned to his friend, “See, I told you it’s a crock of shit.”

Of course, I didn’t bother about it afterwards, when yesterday I read about it again on the news and on numerous Facebook feeds. So then, curiosity took the best of me, and I decided to Google this whole May 21st craze, just to see what its origins were and what it actually signified. And lo and behold, as soon as I typed May21st, the words JUDGEMENT DAY and ARMAGEDDON flashed before my eyes, and all I could do was burst out laughing. And, get this, this obtuseness was discovered by a small number of fundamental Christians who claimed that, due to their MATHEMATICAL calculations, judgment day is supposed to happen in exactly a day from now, no wait, in exactly six hours, considering the different time zones around the world. The story can be accessed through this link.

My thoughts? Well, I admit I’ve read and heard a lot of crazy stuff in my life, but this one takes the cake, as it is by far the most idiotic thing I’ve ever heard. I mean, seriously, people are losing it. Don’t they have ANYTHING better to do with their lives, rather than sit around calculating when judgment day will occur? I don’t know whether to laugh or cry at this, ‘cause it’s just so freakin’ sad!

Wake up, people! The world is NOT going to end in six measly hours (May 21st)! Try to find something much more productive and valuable to do with your time and lives, rather than sitting around, waiting for the damn world to end! ‘Cause, guess what?! It ‘aint gonna happen – not now, and not anytime soon, at least. So, suck it up, get an education, a job, help the poor, oh, for the love of sanity, just DO SOMETHING! As one of my favourite quotes says, “The grand essentials to happiness in this life are something to do, something to love, and something to hope for.” So, don’t hope for judgment day, people! Hope for world peace (if that’s even possible), hope for ending world hunger by contributing to charity or sponsoring a child, hope for ANYTHING that you know will make a difference in someone’s life.

Indeed, life is way too damn short and precious to be living through these age old creeds. But then again, logic and rationality ‘aint so easy to come by now, is it? :: sighs ::

I’d like to end this post with a picture I found on my husband’s wall. (It’s HILARIOUS!)

One response to “May 21 is Judgement Day? Not likely!

  1. I was thinking actually, if it does take place, that’ll mean my date of birth would be a historic one! Only, that everyone would be dead and it wouldn’t really matter. Hey-ho! I’m off to build an unbreakable water-tight bubble with a few years worth of oxygen supply in case I need to use it in about, ummm, 18 hours London time! I think I’ll manage.

I'd love to read your thoughts!

