I Want

I have been writing poems since I was 12 years old. And then, just like I did with my art, I decided to take a hiatus from it — well, what was supposed to be a short while turned into years and years. And then, in mid-2009, my incredibly talented friend, Sherry Duggal, started sharing some of her brilliant poetry with me. And I was blown away by her boldness, and the themes she chose for her poems. Not only were they powerful, but they also inspired me — very much so — to get back into my poetry. And, hence, not too long after that, my poems “Let Me” and “Reflection In The Water” were born. And I have no one but Sherry to thank for this wonderful inspiration. I now try to write poems as often as I can, for it can be such a great release for me. It’s therapeutic.

Anyway, I honestly don’t know ANYONE who can write English poetry as amazingly and brilliantly as Sherry does. And, for the longest time, she has been such a great inspiration to me, not only when it comes to poetry, but among other things as well.

I would now like to share a poem that she wrote recently. She read this to me over the phone, and I have to say, I did get a tad emotional. It’s such a beautiful poem that I am sure anyone and everyone can relate to.

So, without further ado, here you go. Enjoy!:

***

“I want”
Written by Sherry Duggal

I want to sprout like a flower and touch the sky.
I want to hold the sky and paint it red.
I want to take the red and share it with others.
I want to pour the red and offer it as rays.
I want to soak in the rays and bleed in your yellow.
I want to scatter your yellow and shed my light
I want to shine my light to discover your shadow
I want to walk in your shadow and travel the earth
I want to move the earth and make you my axis.
I want to spin around your axis and inhale the stars
I want to wander amidst the stars and land in your footprint
I want to stop in your footprint and exhale galaxies
I want to capture those galaxies and store them in a grain of rice
I want to break the rice and taste your flavor
I want to mix the flavors and radiate white
I want to burn the white and smell like incense
I want to remove the incense and revel in the smoke.
I want to become the smoke and seep through clothes
I want to toss the clothes and wrap myself in rainbows
I want to draw the rainbows and separate the colors
I want to dissolve the colors and float in black
I want to dip myself in black and sign my name with kohl
I want to grab the kohl and apply it to your eyes
I want to look into your eyes and drown it with my tears
I want to collect the tears and cross the seven oceans
I want to swim in the oceans and transform them to mud
I want to dig in the mud and search for pearls
I want to sift through pearls and attain eternal wisdom.
I want to apply my wisdom to get to the oyster
I want to pick up the oyster and drink its holy water
I want to bathe in the water and find the right sound.
I want to take in the sounds and release them as noise
I want to embrace the noise and discover silence.
I want to seduce the silence and greet it with drums.
I want to hit the drums and dance to temple bells
I want to ring the bells and catch you in my thoughts.
I want to celebrate my thoughts and honor it with trumpets.
I want to blow the ceremonial trumpet and pluck the strings.
I want to loosen your strings and tighten my notes.
I want to suspend my notes and hear them in bracelets that touch.
I want to wear the bracelets and sing your song.
I want to listen to your song and let it wash over me like a lullaby
I want to remember the lullaby and make it part of my dreams
I want to write down my dreams and let them guide me to shore
I want to reach the shore and feel the pull of gravity
I want to go against gravity and measure its pressure
I want to burst with the pressure and leave a trail of fire
I want to melt in the fire and scatter diamonds on your path
I want to swallow the diamonds and gleam in your light
I want to remove your light and shiver in the dark
I want to explore the dark and follow your shadow
I want to merge with your shadow and lead with my heat.
I want to increase the heat and evaporate into air
I want to fly in the air and fall to the ground.
I want to roll in the ground and make love to the earth.
I want to coddle the earth and let it show me its scars
I want to stitch the scars with the salt of my wounds
I want to close the wounds and sweep past landscapes
I want to absorb the landscapes and catch a glimpse of your form
I want to memorize your form and stumble upon prayers
I want to transmit the prayers and manifest them in your continent
I want to combine the continents and see them in my hands
I want to fold my hands and say more prayers.
I want to release the prayers and display them like fireworks
I want to use the fireworks to expose hunger and thirst
I want to experience hunger and thirst and acknowledge what I have
I want to acknowledge what I have and send a message of peace
I want to broadcast the message and decode it in your eyes
I want to open my eyes and wake up from this sleep
I want to get up from this sleep and crackle loud
I want to crackle like electricity and ignite sparks on screen.

Copyrighted April 8th, 2011
8 responses to “I Want

  1. Very few English poems keep me captivated till the very last verse! “I Want” is indeed one of those rare poems… Kudos to Sherry Duggal!!

  2. Pingback: ‘Eve: A Balancing Act’ — A Play About Gender Equality & Women’s Empowerment | SesapZai - Artist. Academic. Philanthropist.·

I'd love to read your thoughts!

