My Bucket List

A couple days ago, I watched this movie called The Bucket List, starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman, and OH EM GEE, I am speechless! I can’t even begin to explain just how incredibly humble and heartwarming that movie is! I’ve been a fan of both actors for quite some time now, and to see them BOTH in the same movie, in such powerful roles, was just absolutely refreshing!

The  story pretty much revolves around two men in their late 60’s – one, a very wealthy businessman (Jack Nicholson), who is spoiled, a womanizer, and full of himself without a care for anyone or anything in the world but himself. The other man (Morgan Freeman) is more humble and comes from a middle class family, who never got a chance to fulfill his dreams of becoming a professor, simply because he got plunged into parenthood and responsibility at such a young age. And even though he is married for 45 years, he always felt like there was something missing from his life. He feels very empty inside.

So, although these two men hail from very different worlds, they certainly had one thing in common: cancer. And they only had six months to a year to live. Yikes.

And, so, begins their journey together to do things – crazy things – that they wouldn’t have dreamed of ever doing before; like getting a tattoo and skydiving, as well as travelling and seeing the world before they kicked the bucket, or in other words, bid farewell to life. They visit places they’ve ALWAYS wanted to see, but couldn’t because they either took it for granted or were too busy with their lives to care.

Anyway, as I was watching this movie, I suddenly started to wonder what it would be like if someone told me that I only had six months to live – a year, if I was lucky. What would I do? How would I even react? I am sure most people would not want know when they will die. I mean, why burden ourselves with that stress, right? It’s true that IF we were to know when we’ll be kicking the bucket, we will perhaps plan our lives a little better, and do things more quickly and efficiently, rather than slack off and take it easy. I know I would. I mean there is SO much I want to do! I don’t even know where to begin, to be honest. But, then I wonder, will I even have enough time to do ‘em? I mean if I knew when I would die, like say 40 or 50 years from now, then perhaps I’ll be like, “I have enough time to do this or that.” And, I have to say, 50 years is a LOT of time! However, if someone told me I only had a year, or maybe even 10 years to live then, I admit, I’d be a little depressed. But not for myself, but because of the fact that I won’t have enough time to accomplish the things that I’ve wanted to do, i.e.: completing my PhD, building schools for girls in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, sponsoring more than 100 orphaned children, publishing my novels and non-fiction books, etc.  And I know I’d need a little more than 10 years to do all of this! (Of course, I would have perhaps accomplished my PhD and published a few books/novels by then, but still.)

But, yeah, so let’s imagine you only had one year to live. What would you do? What would you say?

I’ve thought a LOT about mine, and last night when I was lying in bed, I mentally compiled a list in my head. Now let’s hope I remember them, hehe. So, here is mine (and no laughing, alright?!):

  1. Travel all over Europe, especially Paris – Yes, yes, Abaseen was SUPPOSED to take us there on our honeymoon, but due to a slight change of plans, we ended up not going. Bummer. So, yes, this is at the TOP of my list right now. I’ve been DYING to go to Paris ever since forever! The closest I came to seeing Paris was when I visited Quebec almost a month ago. But, Paris has its own charm. And I anxiously wait for the day I go there, ka khairey (hopefully).
  2. Sky Diving – I am literally DYING to do this! It looks like soooooo much fun! I’d NEVER do bungee-jumping ‘cause that’s freaky, but sky diving looks amazing! I know a few people who have done it, and they’re always raving about how magnificent it feels.
  3. Zip-lining – Abaseen and I were *supposed* to do this when we went to Quebec, but unfortunately we didn’t have the proper gear for it. Damnit. Hopefully, we’ll get a chance to do it in the VERY near future.
  4. Get a tattoo – yes, I have YET to get one! But that’s only because I haven’t decided on WHAT I want to get. I mean, if I am gonna die in a year, I wouldn’t want something tiny (as opposed to now, when I don’t know when I’ll be going of course). So, if I knew I wouldn’t live long, I’d go all out with this! I’d get the biggest and most provocative/daring tattoo ever! 😉
  5. Buy a motorbike – It has been Abaseens’ dream that I ride a bike, so I might as well go ahead and do it! And, yes, I shall also be buying a pair of those cool motorbike gloves and tight leather pants while I am at it. 😉
  6. Travel to Egypt, South Africa, Indonesia, Thailand, Japan, and Bora Bora – I don’t think I need to explain how wickedly awesome these places are. So, yes, I HAVE to make sure I see these places. I mean who wouldn’t?
  7. Do something bizarre with my hair, like cut it really short and then dye it. I’ve always had long hair, for as long as I can remember. So, here is a chance for me to go all funky and try something different and unique. I love my long hair, but if I knew I wouldn’t live long, I’d be okay to part ways with it.
  8. Eat all the taboo foods that I wouldn’t dare touch, ‘cause I am so health conscious. For two weeks straight, I’ll eat burgers, fries, deep-fried ice-cream, pizza, paratha, cakes, chocolates, etc. I won’t care how much I am eating 😉 Ah, heaven! (Normally, I wouldn’t dare touch that stuff, well, maybe touch, but like once in a blue moon kinda thing.)
  9. Model – not model for real, but I’d hire the BEST and most expensive photographer in my area, and take a bunch of model/magazine-like shots. That would be SO much fun!

That’s all I can think of for now; well, actually, there are a few more that I’d rather not share as they are, erm, inappropriate. But, yes, the above list is all I can share publicly for now. I’ll try to come up with more, when I get the chance of course, but for now, these will suffice.

4 responses to “My Bucket List

    • LOL! Kana! OMG, share yours on your blog too, maray! I am dying to see what list you’ve managed to compile. 😉

I'd love to read your thoughts!

