Rock Balancing: What An Awe-Inspiring Sight!

Yesterday, my husband and I decided to go to the beach, after a really long time, as the weather was great and all. We even bought some food to take with us, ‘cause it’s always nice to have a little picnic near the water. There is a really great path walk there as well that we usually take long walks on. (We’re both health junkies, so we take every opportunity to get as much exercise as we possibly can.)

Anyway, as we were walking, we suddenly came across this man who was balancing huge rocks on the shore. This was actually the very first time we saw a display like that. And when I say balancing, I don’t mean placing rocks flat on top of one another – ANYONE can do that. But he was balancing them on their sharp tips/edges! Both Abaseen and I were totally in awe! I have to say, it was one of the most incredible things I had ever seen. The man looked like an Indian monk too; very fit, long hair, and at times when he tried to balance rocks, he would close his eyes and bow his head down in meditation for a few minutes before starting. It was absolutely amazing. He also seemed like someone who probably spent hours and hours doing yoga and meditation.

The thing I found most fascinating was the way how he was always trying to concentrate so hard each time he would try to balance a new set of rocks. And every time he got distracted, either by the kids (who tried to imitate his work with smaller rocks) or by the noise from the boats on the water, he would get slightly angry and frustrated and throw the rocks, while bowing his head down and shaking it from side to side, as if in shame. It was then that I realized that one needs to be in a deeply purified state of mind in order to have the power to balance giant rocks that would have otherwise been impossible to balance. And once that balance has been achieved, that person feels a sense of empowerment and pride, because they were able to succeed, without losing sense of their awareness.

I used to do yoga – well hot yoga to be exact. And I noticed that each time my mind was distracted, I was unable to balance myself. It was so strange. And the times when I tried to concentrate and clear my mind from any thoughts that would affect my balance; I was able to balance myself on one leg with my arms reaching for the sky, without even swaying! The mind is so powerful that it not only has the power to help a human being balance her/his body in very difficult poses, but it also allows one to balance objects in positions that leaves one in wonder and bewilderment.

Hence, rock balancing, to me, is not only seen as a calming meditation where rocks are invited to find a deep and profound balance with one another, but it is also seen as a form of art, where one gets to showcase their creativity in order to inspire.

As an artist, I, too, often feel calm and serene when I draw or paint; it takes me to a whole different realm at times, where I feel totally compelled with my art. And any sort of distraction ends ups ruining my concentration, hence forcing me to lose interest in my creation. It’s hard to explain it. But as I watched the man throw the rock away, in frustration, I couldn’t help but smile to myself because I knew EXACYLY what he was feeling. I could relate to his vexation at a very deep level, indeed.

Anyway, we managed to take a few pics of the brilliant art that we saw yesterday, so here are some for your viewing pleasure. (Note: These were taken with a cell phone camera, so the quality may not be as up to par as it should be, but it shall do, I suppose.) Enjoy!

Inspired by the little kids at the beach -- I must say, it looks quite good, eh!

18 responses to “Rock Balancing: What An Awe-Inspiring Sight!

    • Kana!!! Well, thank Abaseen! He has the newest version of BB, so he took these. My BB takes the worst quality pics ever, so I didn’t bother, hehe. But, yeah, it was reallllllly amazing!

  1. Fantastic goods from you, man. Rock Balancing: What An Awe-Inspiring Sight! SesapZai – Artist. Poet. Writer. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a terrific Rock Balancing: What An Awe-Inspiring Sight! SesapZai – Artist. Poet. Writer. informations.

  2. I found your blog website on google and test just a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the superb operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. In search of forward to studying more from you afterward!…

  3. I wanted to check up and let you know how much I valued discovering your website today. I’d consider it a real honor to work at my company and be able to utilize the tips shared on your site and also take part in visitors’ opinions like this. Should a position associated with guest article writer become offered at your end, i highly recommend you let me know.

  4. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve done a very good job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox. Outstanding Blog!

  5. Magnificent goods from you, man. Rock Balancing: What An Awe-Inspiring Sight! SesapZai – Artist. Poet. Writer. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a tremendous Rock Balancing: What An Awe-Inspiring Sight! SesapZai – Artist. Poet. Writer. informations.

  6. I personally understand something additional tough on different personal blogs each day. It’ll always be stimulating to see written content from other writers and exercise something from their store. I¡¯d prefer to make use of some of your written content on my personal website in case you don¡¯t mind. Naturally I¡¯ll supply you with a hyperlink on my websites. Many thanks for posting.

  7. Gday, I wanted to ask you some thing. Is this site a wordpress webpage? I’m making plans for shifting my site from Blogger to wordpress, you think that is possible? In addition did you design this theme yourself some how? Thanks a lot for the assistance!

  8. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

I'd love to read your thoughts!

