My Child

This poem was inspired during a conversation I was having with a new Pashtun friend I just met recently. She happened to mention her baby and it was then that the words for this poem started flowing out of me; and I managed to write this whole poem in less than 15 minutes. It’s still a working progress though, and I may have to add to it from time to time; but it’s definitely inspired and I feel it’s important that I give this lovely friend her due credit. 🙂

***

Your eyes
My lips
Your nose
My hair
Your hands
My feet
Your dimples
My crinkles
Our love – our child
Created in sated passion
And lived unwearyingly through my fluids,
For what seemed like an eternity;
Our beloved has finally entered this world
A world filled with chaos,
A world filled with rainbows;
The wait is over…

Dream child, dream
Fill the skies with your light
And let the tinkling of your soft laughter
Warm the hearts of many strangers
Let your tears fill the ground with love
And fill the space of your liberty with rosy fumes

Dream child, dream
Show the world there’s still hope
For they are waiting,
Watching…
You are their salvation;
The only child that will
Lead them to insurrection

Dream child, dream
Fill the seven seas with your depth
For you are born to make manifest
Let your enigmatic spell shatter this livid curse
All across the dawns for a brand new morn

© September, 2011

3 responses to “My Child

  1. Hey! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Thanks a lot!

I'd love to read your thoughts!

