Deadly Secrets – Part Two

Okay, so it appears that my last blog post titled Wonderful Discoveries From The Past turned out to be quite a hit, especially the first excerpt I shared from a short “novel” I wrote when I was only 13, titled “Deady Secrets.” And, as per the request of a very dear friend, I’m sharing whatever I’ve managed to type up thus far (I wrote this story by hand, in a notebook, so I’ll be sure to type up the rest once I get time). But, anyway, here you go, Hina jaaney! xo

***

Three days later…

After the police questioned Jemi about what had exactly happened that fatal night at the woods regarding Janice’s death, he then told her the most shocking news. Jemi was sitting beside her mother on the sofa; her shaky, cold hands were enveloped in her mother’s warm ones.

“Obviously, based on what you’ve told me so far and the way Janice was behaving that night, I believe Janice’s death wasn’t an accident nor suicidal, but a cold-blooded murder,” the police officer, who appeared like he was in his mid thirties, explained. Jemi gasped, as she suddenly recalled the way Janice kept repeating over and over again how there was somebody watching them. Could that person have murdered her?

“But how can that be officer, I was with her the whole time, there was no body in those woods except for us,” Jemi managed to say. Her bother James was sitting across from her and she saw the way he was glaring at her. There was so much pain and anger in his eyes, it almost seemed like he was blaming Jemi for her death.  He didn’t speak to her nor acknowledge her for the past three days. In fact, he was shut up in his room ever since he found out about her death. This was the first time in three days that Jemi was seeing her brother. He had huge bags under his bloodshot eyes. He looked like he’d been crying and hadn’t slept at all those three days.

“Well, that’s true, but it sounds to me that Janice was in trouble when she called you out that night. It sounds to me that this person that she kept mentioning was a threat to her safety,” the officer replied, adding “Did she tell you who this person was or his name?”

“No, she didn’t, but she was going to tell me something that night and she even made me promise never to tell anyone, but…,” Jemi stopped as a sob caught in her throat, her mom rubbed her arm to soothe her, swallowing, she continued, “…but she never got the chance ‘cause she was so very…scared.”

“Hmm,” the officer mused as he jotted something down quickly into his notepad.

“And what about you? Your sister here tells me that you and Janice were dating, is that correct?” the officer asked, turning to James now, who nodded quickly.

“Did she ever seem…upset to you? Or scared about something?” the officer inquired and James shook his head in disagreement.

“So you’re telling me that Janice was always happy and acted like nothing was bothering her whenever you went out on dates?”

“We’d just started to get serious after I gave her a promise ring and no she never seemed like there was anything bothering her, she never hid anything from me, we were very close…I-I loved her,” James said, his voice cracking slightly

“I see,” the officer replied, “Well, apparently she didn’t share everything with you, she obviously had a very dark, troubled secret that she obviously didn’t want anyone to know.”

“Anyways, that’s all for now, but I’ll be back in a few days to ask you kids some more questions,” he added as he got up from the sofa, ready to leave.

“What about the body?” Jemi asked softly. “Has it been found yet?”

“Unfortunately not yet, we’re still looking for it, but once it is found, we’ll definitely touch base,” the officer assured her, but something in his expression seemed like he was suspicious of Jemi.  In response, she just nodded quickly and looked away.

“In the mean time, you kids stay tight, and if you find out any more information, let us know as soon as possible,” both Jemi and James nodded quickly in unison.

“Good day to you all,” he added and nodded towards Mrs. Wilson, who was standing beside Jemi with her arm around her daughter’s shoulders. She just smiled weakly and nodded in response. With a last look at them, the officer turned around and left the house, Jemi closing the door after him.

***

That night Jemi couldn’t go to sleep and it was the fourth night in a row that this was happening to her.  I never should’ve left her alone that night, I should’ve made sure she was by my side the whole time, Jemi thought as hot tears filled her eyes and streamed down her face.  She felt so guilty!

She turned in her bed and looked at the clock as it struck 12 a.m.  Suddenly she heard a tapping sound on her window. She pushed aside the blanket and slipped into her slippers and then quickly made her way towards the window.  However, as she looked down, there was no one there.  Maybe it’s just my imagination making me hear things she thought and turned around to go back to bed, when suddenly she heard the tapping sounds again. She went back to the window and this time she pulled it open and stuck out her head to see who was doing that, when she felt a small pebble hit her forehead.

“Ow,” she moaned, although the pain wasn’t really intense.  She looked down and saw Tony, her best friend, waving his hands for her to come down.

“Oh my God Tony, what the hell are you doing here at this time of the night, have you gone totally mad?” she called out.

“Shhhhh, get your butt down here!” Tony hissed from below. Shaking her head, Jemi shut the windows and quickly slipped into a pair of denim jeans and a T-shirt.  She grabbed her cardigan, just in case, as it was a bit chilly outside, and quietly slipped out of her room, down the stairs and out the back door.

“What the hell are you doing here?” Jemi asked again, placing her hands on her hips as she approached Tony; her face scrunched up in a frown.

“I came to see you silly, you’ve been absent from school for three whole days, I was starting to miss you!” Tony replied, and took Jemi by surprise by engulfing her in a tight hug.  Jemi felt her face heat up and the smell of his sweet cologne was starting to make her dizzy.  Laughing nervously, she started to pull away but before she could do that, he grabbed her in a headlock and started to give her a noogie.

“Stop it!” Jemi yelped, as she struggled to get out of his grip.

“Not till you say how much you love me and missed me and how I am the coolest, smartest, most gorgeous guy you’ve ever met,” Tony replied, tightening his grip and laughing uncontrollably.

“Tony, I am serious, stop it!” Jemi said firmly and finally managed to pull out of his grip.  “I am just too upset right now,” she added, slumping onto the grass.  At the sound of that, Tony’s expression suddenly became serious.

“Hey, I’m sorry Jems, I didn’t mean to make you all upset, I just came over to cheer you up,” Tony said and slumped onto the grass beside her.  He put his arm around her shoulder and squeezed tightly.

“I can’t believe she’s gone.  I never should have left her alone like that, she would be alive right now,” Jemi said sadly and sighed.

“I know.  But you’re not to blame for anything,” Tony said, adding, “Janice sure was an amazing girl though, I kept praying she and your brother would break up, so I’d finally get a chance to be with her.” Upon hearing that, Jemi chuckled softly.

“What’s so funny?” Tony asked, raising one of his eyebrows in confusion.

“You are! I can’t believe you’re talking about dating a dead girl.  You’re so cocky Tony, no wonder the ladies can’t stand you sometimes,” Jemi teased, ruffling Tony’s silky black hair.

“Hey hey hey, the ladies’ still love me, I’m just irresistible, don’t you leave that out,” Tony replied, revealing his dimpled smile.  Jemi had to admit seeing Tony did make her feel much better.  Oh how I wish we could be more than just friends, Jemi thought as she gazed at Tony when he started being his silly self again.

They chilled together until it was almost 2:30 a.m.  With a last hug, Tony grabbed his bicycle and peddled away.  He lived only a couple blocks away.  Jemi watched after him, as he peddled down the street, turned a corner and disappeared.

Jemi sighed and slowly made her way towards the house, when suddenly she felt chills run up and down her spine. She turned her head quickly to look behind her.  Her eyes scanned the trees and the empty street. Nothing. There was nobody there.  Taking a deep breath, she ran into the house and through the back door, making sure it was locked tightly.  She then made her way up to her room and quickly slid under the covers.  Jemi didn’t understand why she felt so uneasy, but it seemed like she was being watched by some unknown presence…

©1997

2 responses to “Deadly Secrets – Part Two

  1. I’ve just come home from the cinema, we watched “The Woman in Black” and now I’ve read snippet 2 from your horror novel and I’m as spooked as one can possibly be! That aside, you shouldn’t have grown up, being 13 and writing those kind of stories should’ve been your thing! It’s amazingly descriptive and honestly sends shivers down my spine. Can’t thank you enough for typing it all! Now I want the next bit LOL just scan the pages and save yourself the hassle 😀 xxx

    • Awww, thank you so much, da zra saraa! :: blushes :: Your compliments and kind words mean the WORLD to me! Well, I used to be obsessed with R.L. Stine’s books, kana; like really obsessed! I literally used to wait till a new book of his was released, and I pretty much read every single Fear Street and Ghosts of Fear Street book he wrote. LOL. So, his writings really, really inspired me. But, yeah, I’ll definitely share more and try scanning the pages this time around. Hopefully you’ll be able to make them out. :: bear hugs ::

I'd love to read your thoughts!

