The Beautiful Letdown

The following are just some thoughts I jotted down a few years ago. And it’s something I keep reading and re-reading from time to time to keep me in check, despite the fact that my life is — for a lack of a better word — absolutely perfect right now.

However, at the time, it wasn’t perfect. Far from it, actually. Indeed I’ve experienced many low and high points in my life; and at the time I wrote the following blurb, I was at my lowest. Needless to say, it humbled me. And it continues to humble me till this very day.

***

At times life can be the most beautiful letdown you will ever face and at other times it could be absolutely perfect. People come and go from your life from time to time and some end up having a greater impact on you than you ever imagined. You start to fall hopelessly because nothing else matters; you create this reality in which only you exist because no one else is aware of it. It’s beautiful to you, but no one else appreciates it because it means absolutely nothing to them. That is the letdown. No one else loves the way you love, nobody cares the way you care and nobody sees things the way you see them. Distinction keeps us in check, helps us appreciate our individuality, but is it too much to ask for someone to share this reality with you? Is it so much to let someone let you appreciate their reality in exchange for them appreciating yours?

3 responses to “The Beautiful Letdown

    • Hello Guat! Thanks for your comment! And, yes, I absolutely love, love, loooooove that quote! John Lennon was just awesome. Period. 🙂

  1. I simply want to mention I am newbie to blogging and site-building and seriously loved your web site. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You definitely have exceptional writings. Cheers for sharing with us your web page.

I'd love to read your thoughts!

