Umeed (Hope)

My dearest, Mariya Zarbakhtha Yousafzai, wrote this amazing poem not too long ago, and I just had to share it on my blog! Not many people I know can write Pashto poems (if any, besides my hubby and one other good friend, of course); and I must say Mariya’s Pashto poetry writing talent never fails to leave me completely spellbound. I am so proud of her, as I not only consider her as one of my bestest friends, but she’s also the sister I’ve always wanted but never had.

So, without further ado, enjoy her brilliance below. (I’ve also provided the translation in English.):

Painting by Francoise Nielly

Khali Lasoona
Na bawar pa de Khwayeshoona
Gharq shi Naseeboona
Na manam Da Rewajoona
Pa Fursat Moonam Da Khoaboona
Da Spoar Umeedoona
Pa yo Saat Khushali
Pa yo Saat ke Neem Garey Shairoona
Raa yo zai shu Ajeeba Kismatoona
Ramakhamakh shu da Janaan Sitamoona
Pweyowama zaan pa da ghairo Misaaloona
Moonam Agha Lara
Che pe miloushi da Zre Poora Shawey Armaanoona
Manam da Duniya Fani da
Da Dwa Razey Jwandoon deh
Raatha weh che sabar ooka
Kho ratha ookhaya che sanga theer kam da Be Sabrey Wakhtoona
Che Bya Ra Oogandam Da Zre Choudaley Maath Shawey Thaaroona

(English Translation)

Empty Hands
No trust with desires
To hell with luck
I don’t accept traditions
I seek out my dreams
These dry traces of hope
An instance of happiness
An instance of incomplete poems
A gathering of unusual circumstances
I face the torment of my beloved
I seek guidance from the experience of strangers
I’m carving out a path
Which will lead to my dreams of happiness
I admit this world is cold
Life is short
You advise that I be patient
What I really need to know
Is how to embrace these impatient moments
So that I can sew back the wounded and broken threads of my heart

© MZY 2011

7 responses to “Umeed (Hope)

    • Love you too, zama da stargo ranra! Keep writing Pashto poetry, ’cause I, for the life of me, struggle with ’em! But you…gosh, it comes to you so naturally! Wai zaar! :: bear hugs ::

  1. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such wonderful information being shared freely out there.

  2. Thanks for this article. I will also like to mention that it can always be hard when you find yourself in school and starting out to initiate a long credit score. There are many scholars who are merely trying to pull through and have a lengthy or beneficial credit history can be a difficult thing to have.

I'd love to read your thoughts!

