Sajid And Zeeshan — The Pashtun Linkin Park?

I love, love, LOVE rock/alternative music. And when I say rock music, I am referring to bands like Linkin Park, Hoobastank, Lifehouse, Breaking Benjamin, Crossfade, Vertical Horizon, 3 Doors Down, Seether, Low Level Flight, Staind, etc. And there would often be times when I’d be listening to some of these bands and wishing that Pashtuns could sing like this. And I don’t mean singing with just a guitar; these rock singers have this beautiful way of singing, where some even scream but still manage to sound so incredible without having their voices break. And it’s not easy to be a rock singer. I personally think rock singers are much more talented than pop and R&B singers. Much, much more talented.

Anyway, my dream of Pashtuns singing rock songs came true a couple nights ago when I came across a song by this band called Sajid and Zeeshan. I have to admit, when I initially saw the title of the song and realized that it was in English, I did not have very high expectations. I’d heard their song Lambay in Pashto a few years ago, and really loved it. But I honestly did not expect them to be great “English” singers. However, as soon as I pressed the play button on Youtube and listened to one of their songs titled “Start With A Scratch,” I literally could not believe my ears. They sounded so freaking INCREDIBLE! In fact, they sounded so incredible that I doubted if they’d actually sung the song themselves; I mean the song was sung the way a great rock singer would sing it, touching on perfect tones and not even faltering one single bit. So, I decided to listen to a couple more of their English tracks and any doubts I had about them were erased completely.

These guys are brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. Not only are the lyrics in all of their songs deep and incredibly meaningful, but they are what I would call true rock stars. They have the perfect voice for it, the perfect sound, and best and most importantly of all, they are PASHTUNS! Yes, dear readers, they are born and bred in Peshawar! Who knew Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa could create such amazing gems? I’m so incredibly proud of them. They are a great pride for Pashtuns all over, and I hope they continue singing and producing great, well-sung, meaningful songs. I’ve also been trying to get in contact with them to see if they’d be interested in promoting their music here in Canada. Seriously, many of their songs deserve to be on the top 10 music billboards! They are just incredible! I also hope they sing more Pashto songs as well (besides the one “Lambay”), or maybe even perhaps do a Pashto/English rock mix duo. Gosh, that would be the coolest ever!

Anyway, if any of my readers would like to know more about them, you are more than welcome to check out Sajid and Zeeshan’s official website.

And here are some of my most favourite songs of theirs. I haven’t bought an album in a decade, but I’m definitely buying theirs! Enjoy!




I'd love to read your thoughts!

