I’ll Be Back. Promise.

stress3

It’s near the end of the semester and I am swamped, and I mean SWAMPED! I have a major research paper (to be published in my university’s journal) to complete and the deadline is next week Sunday (the 30th) and I seriously can’t focus with all this social media stuff buzzing around me. I freaking need to focus! I repeat, FOCUS. Focus. Focus. Focus. Ahhh!

So, I decided to take the drastic route and deactivate every single social media platform that I’m usually the most active on. Yes, yes, I know I can always reactivate it within seconds, but at least my phone is calm (no more buzzing from never-ending notifications), and I can finally focus. Phew. Yes, I know I shouldn’t even be writing this silly blog explaining my absence, but I know some of my Facebook “friends” and acquaintances will wonder where I disappeared off to, especially since, for the past few days, there has been a massive debate going on my wall about the appropriateness of using terms like “Pathan,” “Afghan,” “Pashtun/Pakhtun,” and the whole idea that Afghan ancestry is linked back to India. Perk your curiosity? Don’t worry, I intend to share that conversation (not all, but most of it) on my blog once I get some free time, perhaps in a few weeks or less. More importantly, I know some of my most valued and dearest readers will miss me terribly (awww), yes, I’m looking straight at you. YOU! (Thank you for being such a doll and visiting and reading pretty much ALL my writings and blog posts. You rock, chica/chico.)

Okay, bas, this message wasn’t intended to be long. So, unless I finally finish that major paper — and survive — we’ll chat. Wish me luck (gosh, I desperately need it!).

Adios, amigos!

El amor siempre, (Okay, yeah, don’t ask me why I’m using so much Spanish all of a sudden. Blame the stress. Argh!)

SesapZai

 

6 responses to “I’ll Be Back. Promise.

  1. i dont want to name names but this person has been obsessed with you and your blog for years. she always used to ask me about you and then talk shit. i dont talk to her anymore but she is a sorry person. keep up your great work. i am a huge fan of your blog. (Y)

    • Again, I don’t know who you are, but I don’t appreciate meaningless gossip. I don’t care who hates me or who is obsessed with me. That’s that person’s life and I wish them nothing but the best. I don’t like talking (ill) about people, unless it’s praising or appreciating their good work/talent. I prefer discussing ideas, not people. 🙂 Thanks for your readership, though, and I look forward to seeing more (intelligent) comments from you on my blogs, from now onwards, with your NAME preferably. 🙂 Take care! – S.

  2. Hello there, I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time, it’s great, btw. I’m a brown woman,studying gender too and would like to ask your advice or rather it would be great if you would do a post on how are you getting on in the world of academia, the problems you faced being a woman, what are the best international universities in the field of gender studies one should look out for higher studies and to excel in this field, what scholarships one shouldn’t miss and things like that. It would be great if you respond. Keep writing!!
    PS. I hope you wouldn’t mind commenting on an old entry.

    • Dear Samra,

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment and feedback; it’s very much appreciated. Also, many apologies for the late reply! I meant to reply sooner, but life keeps happening, and lately it’s been getting busier and busier. Anyway, I would love to answer any questions you may have about the wonderful world of academia. You are more than welcome to email me at sesapzai@gmail.com, and I would be more than happy to address any questions you may have. I have written a few posts here and there about my experience in academe, but they may not be as specific to what you are looking for. Also, it’s great to know that you are studying Gender. Very good stuff! So, yes, definitely shoot me an email, and I’ll try my very best to help you out. Good luck! 🙂

I'd love to read your thoughts!

